Access Keys:

Kilkeel High School, Knockchree Avenue, Kilkeel

GCSE Mathematics

This GCSE is a two year unitised course providing a sound basis for progression to employment and further education, particularly GCE AS/A2 Mathematics. This 2-tier GCSE Mathematics’ course offered by CCEA allows all pupils to have access to a grade C.

The content of each GCSE Mathematics unit relates to:

  • number and algebra;                                      о     geometry and measures; and
  • statistics and probability.

The units all provide opportunities for students to develop and apply their mathematical skills to real-life contexts.

The six available units are:

  • Unit T1: Foundation Tier                               о     Unit T3: Higher Tier
  • Unit T2: Foundation Tier                               о     Unit T4: Higher Tier
  • Unit T5: Foundation Tier                               о     Unit T6: Higher Tier

The grades that you can achieve depend on the units that you sit for assessment. You will sit two units: one from T1, T2, T3 and T4 and one from T5 and T6. Units T1, T2, T3 and T4 will be worth 45% each while Units T5 and T6 will be worth 55% each. You will sit one unit at the end of Year 11 and one unit at the end of Year 12. You may resit T1, T2, T3 or T4 only once.


Unit Tests worth 45%

There is a choice of 4 units aimed at different levels:

                Unit                                              Target grades                       Timing

                T4 (Higher)                                      A* - B                                2 hrs

                T3 (Higher)                                      B - D                                  2 hrs

                T2 (Foundation)                               C - E                                   1½ hrs

                T1 (Foundation)                               E - G                                  1½ hrs

Each of these units will be assessed by an external written test with a calculator.

Unit Tests worth 55%

                Unit                                    Target grades                  Timing

                T6 (Higher)                          A* - D (E)                          2 papers each 1 hour 15 minutes.

                T5 (Foundation)                    C - G                                   2 papers each 1 hour.

Each of these units will be assessed by an external written test consisting of two papers: one paper with a calculator and one without a calculator.