Access Keys:

Kilkeel High School, Knockchree Avenue, Kilkeel

A Level

In Year 13 students study the first of the six units which make up the AQA Single Award Applied GCE Information and Communication Technology course.

The course aims to develop the following skills and knowledge:


  • An understanding of the impact of information and communication technology on society and organisations


  • An awareness of the economic, social and ethical implications of the use of information and communication technology


  • The ability to analyse problems that could be solved or tasks that could be completed with the use of information and communication technology, and to identify how information and communication technology can be used to solve these problems


  • Problem solving skills through practical application of ICT


  • Interpersonal skills necessary for communicating and working with others


  • The ability to adopt standard ways of working


  • The ability to work independently


In Year 13 students complete the following units:

Unit 1:     ICT and Society (15 hour Practical Exam)

Unit 2:     ICT and Organisations (Portfolio)

Unit 3:     Data Handling (Portfolio)


The successful completion of these three units means that students will be awarded the Key Skills Level 3 ICT by proxy.  This means an additional 20 UCAS points are added to their AS points.


In Year 14 students study the final three units which make up the single award

    Unit 8:    Project Management (Portfolio)

    Unit 10:  Advanced Spreadsheet Design (20 hour Practical Exam)

    Unit 12:  Publishing (Portfolio)


In Year 13 those pupils who do not opt for GCE in Applied ICT may continue their ICT studies by taking the Level 3 Key Skills ICT qualification or the City & Guilds Spreadsheet Processing Techniques, Essential Level.